CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Enceladus Rev 142 Raw Preview

These raw, unprocessed images of Saturn's moon Enceladus were taken on Dec. 20 and 21, 2010. At closest approach during this targeted flyby, Cassini passed above Enceladus' northern hemisphere at an altitude of only about 50 kilometers (31 miles). During this flyby and a similar flyby on Nov. 30, Cassini came the closest it will come during the extended Solstice mission to the northern hemisphere surface of Enceladus. In some of the images, Cassini is looking at the famous jets erupting from the south polar terrain of the moon.

Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #1 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 20, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #2 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 20, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #3 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 20, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #4 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 21, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #5 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 20, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #6 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 21, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Dec 21, 2010: Enceladus 'Rev 142' Raw Preview #7 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on December 21, 2010 and received on Earth December 21, 2010.
Alliance Member Comments
Breitstar (Jan 10, 2011 at 8:43 PM):
It's been a while since visiting the crystal cannons. I still sit and stare at the screen with my mouth open in wonderment. So beautiful and inspiring.
stowaway (Dec 24, 2010 at 3:24 PM):
I actually had a dream about Enceladus just a couple of nights ago. It seems a mysterious "sonic resonance" was detected by observers on Earth as well as by the team at the outpost on Enceladus. Yes, they heard it too!
libbydaddy (Dec 21, 2010 at 4:44 PM):
These are amazing. Stunningly beautiful even in their raw state. These images make me want to go visit this moon; see it up close. God's creation truly is magnificent, with even cold, distant moons singing His praises. I don't think there is one moon in Saturns entire system that hasn't grabbed by attention by the collars and shook me up. Magnificent.

The force of these jets must cause serious havoc with the orbit and rotation of this moon.

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!