CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Hyperion Rev 152 Raw Preview

These raw, unprocessed images of Saturn's moon Hyperion were taken on Aug. 25, 2011, as Cassini conducted its second closest flyby of Hyperion at a distance of about 15,500 miles (25,000 kilometers).

Hyperion is a small moon -- just 168 miles (270 kilometers) across. It has an irregular shape and surface appearance, chaotically rotates, and tumbles along its orbit. Its chaotic rotation prevented scientists from predicting exactly what terrain the spacecraft's cameras would image during this flyby. However, this flyby's closeness has likely allowed Cassini's cameras to map new territory. At the very least, it will help scientists improve color measurements of the moon. It will also allow a determination of how the moon's brightness changes as lighting and viewing conditions change, which can provide insight into the texture of the surface. The color measurements provide additional information about different materials on the moon's deeply pitted surface.

Cassini's closest encounter with Hyperion was on September 26, 2005, when the spacecraft flew approximately 310 miles (500 kilometers) above the moon's surface. Cassini's next flyby of Hyperion will be on Sept. 16, 2011, when it passes the tumbling moon at a distance of about 36,000 miles (58,000 kilometers).

Aug 26, 2011: Hyperion 'Rev 152' Raw Preview #1 - This raw, unprocessed image of Hyperion was taken on August 25, 2011 and received on Earth August 26, 2011.
Aug 26, 2011: Hyperion 'Rev 152' Raw Preview #2 - This raw, unprocessed image of Hyperion was taken on August 25, 2011 and received on Earth August 26, 2011.
Aug 26, 2011: Hyperion 'Rev 152' Raw Preview #3 - This raw, unprocessed image of Hyperion was taken on August 25, 2011 and received on Earth August 26, 2011.
Aug 26, 2011: Hyperion 'Rev 152' Raw Preview #4 - This raw, unprocessed image of Hyperion was taken on August 25, 2011 and received on Earth August 26, 2011.
Aug 26, 2011: Hyperion 'Rev 152' Raw Preview #5 - This raw, unprocessed image of Hyperion was taken on August 25, 2011 and received on Earth August 26, 2011.
Alliance Member Comments
Breitstar (Sep 14, 2011 at 9:23 PM):
I glide among the ripples that my Hyperion landscape delivers.
In and out the honey comb, the view sends me shivers.
Ice and dust, light and dark, tumbling along alone
till my friend Cassini comes along and sends my portrait home.
I am not alone...
dholmes (Aug 29, 2011 at 9:27 AM):
I am home sick today which gave me time to revel in these wonderful images of Hyperion. We are very fortunate that the Cassini mission is an ongoing one especially in these times of budget cuts, and humankind is the continual benefactor in its evolving understanding of Saturn and its moons. That said keep up the good work!!

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!